Rate this post

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will quickly arrange a committee for giving “time-bound” recommendations on the difficulty of ‘one nation, one election’, stated Defence Minister Rajnath Singh on Wednesday.

Talking to media after the all-party assembly on the difficulty, Singh stated there was broad consensus for holding simultaneous polls to Lok Sabha and state assemblies.

“Solely left events such because the CPI and the CPI-M expressed some apprehension over the difficulty over procedural issues,” he stated.

When requested concerning the composition of the proposed panel, Singh stated the Prime Minister Modi will take a name.

Forward of the Lok Sabha elections, the BJP in its Sankalp Patra proposed the concept of ‘one nation, one election’.

Additionally Learn:Piyush Goyal meets retailers and Kirana shops representatives to debate e-commerce coverage

Earlier as we speak, PM Modi chaired a marathon four-hour lengthy assembly of get together presidents of all political events on a number of points together with ‘one nation, one election’, growth of aspirational districts, plans to commemorate the 150th delivery anniversary of Mahatma Gandhi this yr and celebrations for 75 years of India’s independence in 2022.

“This isn’t a single get together’s agenda, however it is a matter of nationwide significance and the views of all events could be thought of and given due significance,” Modi reportedly stated within the assembly.

CPM chief Sitaram Yechury, who attended the assembly, instructed the media later, “One nation, one election is how the method started in India in 1952, 1957. Gross misuse of Article 356 led to state elections being held individually from nationwide elections. I stated so long as Article 356 stays, ‘one nation, one election’ cannot occur. There was complete silence. Shortening or prolonging state meeting time period is anti-federal and anti-democratic.”

Additionally Learn:1st GST Council Meet underneath Modi 2.0: EVs might even see tax lower, anti-profiteering physique to get extension

The assembly was attended by the leaders of the BJP, Shiromani Akali Dal, Lok Janshakti Get together, CPI, CPM, Nationwide Congress Get together, Nationwide Convention, Folks’s Democratic Get together, Biju Janata Dal, YSRCP and AIMIM, amongst others.

Alternatively, Congress President Rahul Gandhi, Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee, who’s the chief of Trinamool Congress, Telugu Desam Get together (TDP) chief Chandrababu Naidu and DMK chief MK Stalin skipped the all-party meet. Amongst others, Arvind Kejriwal, Akhilesh Yadav and Mayawati additionally opted out of the assembly.

Edited by Chitranjan Kumar


'); $('#btfblike').html('


setTimeout( function () (function(d, s, id) var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0]; if (d.getElementById(id)) return; js = d.createElement(s); js.id = id; js.src = 'https://connect.facebook.net/en_GB/sdk.js#xfbml=1&version=v3.2&appId=549500891767549&autoLogAppEvents=1'; fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs); (document, 'script', 'facebook-jssdk')); , 3000); );